Leanne Hinton

Leanne Hinton Professor Emerita of Linguistics
Email: hinton@berkeley.edu
Research: American Indian languages, endangered languages, language revitalization

Gary Holland

Gary Holland Professor Emeritus of Linguistics
Email: gholland@berkeley.edu
Office: 1216 Dwinelle Hall
Research: Indo-European linguistics, historical linguistics, history of linguistics, language typology

Paul Kay

Paul Kay Professor Emeritus of Linguistics
Email: paulkay@berkeley.edu
Research: Color naming and perception, grammar, lexicon

George Lakoff

George Lakoff Professor of the Graduate School
Email: lakoff@berkeley.edu
Research: Cognitive linguistics, especially the neural theory of thought and language; conceptual systems, conceptual metaphor, grammar and meaning; the application of cognitive and neural linguistics to politics, literature, psychology, philosophy and mathematics

Robin Lakoff

Robin Lakoff Professor Emerita of Linguistics
Email: rlakoff@berkeley.edu
Research: Pragmatics, sociolinguistics

Ian Maddieson

Ian Maddieson Adjunct Professor Emeritus of Linguistics
Email: ianm@berkeley.edu
Research: Phonetic and phonological universals; articulatory and acoustic phonetics

James A. Matisoff

James A. Matisoff Professor Emeritus of Linguistics
Email: matisoff@berkeley.edu
Research: Southeast Asian languages, especially Tibeto-Burman and Thai, Chinese, Japanese, field linguistics, Yiddish studies, historical semantics, psychosemantics, language typology, area linguistics

Johanna Nichols

Johanna Nichols Professor Emerita of Slavic Languages and Literatures
Email: johanna@berkeley.edu
Research: Historical linguistics; typology, including historical typology; linguistic geography and areal linguistics. Chechen, Ingush, Russian

John Ohala

John Ohala Professor Emeritus of Linguistics
Email: ohala@berkeley.edu
Research: Experimental phonology and phonetics, historical phonology, ethological aspects of communication, speech

Dan Slobin

Dan Slobin

Professor Emeritus of Psychology
Email: slobin@berkeley.edu
Research: Linguistics (cognitive, functional, typological), psycholinguistics, sociolinguistics, language and cognitive development, sign language, cross-cultural

Alan Timberlake

Alan Timberlake Professor Emeritus of Slavic Languages and Literatures; Director, Institute of East Central Europe, Columbia University
Email: at2205@columbia.edu
Research: Synchronic and historical Slavic and Russian linguistics; descriptive grammar of Russian; medieval Slavic literature, language and culture; Czech literature.

William S-Y. Wang

William Wang Professor Emeritus of Linguistics; Chair Professor of Language and Cognitive Sciences, Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Email: shiyuan.w.wang@polyu.edu.hk
Research: Language engineering, computational linguistics, language & evolution

Karl Zimmer

Karl Zimmer Professor Emeritus of Linguistics
Email: karlz@berkeley.edu
Research: Turkish linguistics; word formation; history of linguistics