Faculty and staff

Susanne Gahl

Susanne Gahl Associate Professor of Linguistics and Cognitive Science
Email: gahl@berkeley.edu
Office: 1220 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Psycholinguistics; language production and comprehension; aphasia
Fall 2016: Linguistics 200, 208

Larry M. Hyman

Larry M. Hyman Professor of Linguistics; Executive Director, France-Berkeley Fund
Email: hyman@berkeley.edu
Office: 1221 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Phonological theory, language typology, African languages, especially Bantu and other Niger-Congo
Fall 2016: Linguistics 5, 24, 140

Sharon Inkelas

Sharon Inkelas Professor of Linguistics
Email: inkelas@berkeley.edu
Office: 1219 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Phonology, morphology, and their interface; child phonology
Fall 2016: Linguistics 24, 148, 375

Keith Johnson

Keith Johnson Professor of Linguistics; Director, PhonLab; Head Graduate Adviser, Department of Linguistics
Email: keithjohnson@berkeley.edu
Office: 1222 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Linguistic phonetics, phonetic neuroscience, psycholinguistics
Fall 2016: Linguistics 110 

Darya (Даша) Kavitskaya

Darya Kavitskaya Associate Professor of Slavic Languages and Literatures
Email: dkavitskaya@berkeley.edu
Office: 6219 Dwinelle
Research and teaching: Slavic, Turkic, Uralic; phonology and phonetics, historical phonology
Fall 2016: Linguistics 211B

Susan Lin

Susan Lin Assistant Professor of Linguistics
Email: susanlin@berkeley.edu
Office: 1215 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Articulatory phonetics, speech perception, sound change
Fall 2016: Linguistics 100

Ronald Sprouse

Ronald Sprouse Information Systems Analyst
Email: ronald@berkeley.edu
Office: 49 Dwinelle Hall
Portfolio: Programming related to speech production and perception research, including digital signal processing. Linux system administration and web application development for digital language archives and language documentation.

Graduate students

Sarah Bakst

Sarah Bakst Email: bakst@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics and phonology, in particular retroflexes (especially in languages of India), motor planning, rhotics, and visual phonetics

Auburn Barron-Lutzross

Auburn Barron-Lutzross Email: alutzross@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Experimental phonetics, sociophonetics, phonetics of gender and sexuality, psycholinguistics, accommodation and convergence, speech and aging, signed languages structure and prosody

Emily Clem

Emily Clem Email: eclem@berkeley.edu
Office: 1312 Dwinelle
Research interests:
 Syntax, semantics, morphology, language documentation, typology, areal linguistics; Amahuaca, Tswefap, Bulu
Spring 2017 teaching: Linguistics 120

Meg Cychosz

Meg Cychosz Email: mcychosz@berkeley.edu
Research interests: (Socio)phonetics, psycholinguistics: especially bilingual and L2 phonological acquisition

Matthew Faytak

Matt Faytak Email: mf@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonological typology, the actuation of sound change, turbulent sounds, aerodynamics; language documentation and revitalization, lexicography

Karee Garvin

Karee Garvin Email: karee_garvin@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, phonology, phonetics-phonology interface, language documentation

Myriam Lapierre

Myriam Lapierre Email: myriam.lapierre@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, phonology, nasality, language documentation and revitalization, Amazonian languages (especially Jê languages)

Jonathan Manker

Jonathan Manker Email: jtmanker@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, phonology, morphology, sound change, historical linguistics, language documentation, language revitalization, acoustics, speech perception, dialectology

Yevgeniy Melguy

Yevgeniy Melguy Email: ymelguy@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics-phonology interface, lab phonology, speech perception/production, bilingualism

Emily Remirez

Emily Remirez Email: eremirez@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Sociocultural and interactional linguistics, lab phonetics and phonology, identity construction, discourse and grammar

Nicholas Rolle

Nik Rolle Email: n.rolle@berkeley.edu
Research interests: General: phonology, prosody/tone/accent, the phonology/morphosyntax interface, language description, areal typology, Nigerian languages and West Africa; Specific: dominance effects in prosody, clitics and post-syntactic movement, areal phonology of the Macro-Sudan Belt in Africa, metrical windows and accent assignment, serial verb constructions; Languages: Esan, Edo, Degema, Urhobo, Edoid, Kalabari, Ijoid, Agwara Kambari, Kainji, Niger-Congo, Niuean, Ese'eja
Spring 2017 teaching: Linguistics 5

Hannah Sande

Hannah Sande Email: sande570@berkeley.edu
Office: 1305 Dwinelle
Research interests: Phonology; morphology; the interfaces between syntax, morphology, and phonology; language documentation; computational tools for language documentation; typology; Kru languages; West Africa
Spring 2017 teaching: Linguistics 115

Clare Sandy

Clare Sandy

Email: csandy@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language documentation and description, phonology, morphology, historical linguistics, typology
Spring 2017 teaching: Linguistics R1B

Alice Shen

Alice Shen Email: azshen@berkeley.edu
Office: 1307 Dwinelle

Research interests: Phonetics, psycholinguistics, speech perception, bilingualism
Spring 2017 teaching: Linguistics 100

Eric Wilbanks

Eric Wilbanks Email: wilbanks_eric@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics and phonology; sociophonetics; language variation and change; laboratory phonology; speech perception and production; Hispanic linguistics