Faculty

Amy Rose Deal

Amy Rose Deal Associate Professor of Linguistics
Email: ardeal@berkeley.edu
Office: 1223 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Syntax, semantics, fieldwork, Nez Perce
Fall 2017: Linguistics 121, 221

Peter Jenks

Peter Jenks Assistant Professor of Linguistics
Email: jenks@berkeley.edu
Office: 1217 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Formal and comparative syntax, semantics, and morphology, especially of Southeast Asian and African languages
Fall 2017: Linguistics 100, 220A

Line Mikkelsen

Line Mikkelsen Associate Professor of Linguistics
Email: mikkelsen@berkeley.edu
Office: 1210 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Syntax, semantics, morphology, Danish and other Germanic languages, Karuk and other languages of California, philosophy of language
Fall 2017: Linguistics 24, C70 

Eve Sweetser

Eve Sweetser Professor of Linguistics; Director, Celtic Studies Program
Email: sweetser@berkeley.edu
Office: 1211 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Semantics, syntax, historical linguistics, Celtic languages, speech act theory, metaphor theory, semantic change, grammaticalization, grammatical meaning, gesture
Fall 2017: Linguistics 40, 123

Graduate students

Kenneth Baclawski Jr.

Kenny Baclawski Email: kbaclawski@berkeley.edu
Office: 1314 Dwinelle

Research interests: Syntax, sociolinguistics, Southeast Asian and Chamic linguistics

Nicholas Baier

Nico Baier Email: nbbaier@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntactic theory; syntax-morphology interface; agreement; typology

Emily Clem

Emily Clem Email: eclem@berkeley.edu
Office: 1312 Dwinelle
Research interests:
 Syntax, semantics, morphology, language documentation, typology, areal linguistics; Amahuaca, Tswefap, Bulu
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics 121

Virginia Dawson

Ginny Dawson Email: virginia.dawson@berkeley.edu
Office: 1314 Dwinelle
Research interests: Semantics, syntax, morphology; language documentation; Tiwa (Tibeto-Burman)

Edwin Ko

Edwin Ko Email: eddersko@berkeley.edu
Office: TBA

Research interests: Syntax, semantics, morphosyntax, language variation and change, historical and comparative linguistics, language documentation and revitalization, Alaska Native and Native American languages (especially Aleut, Crow, Hidatsa, and Northern Pomo)

Tyler Lemon

Tyler Lemon Email: tylerlemon@berkeley.edu
Office: 1308 Dwinelle
Research interests: Morphology, syntax, phonology, typology, language variation, fieldwork

Erik Hans Maier

Erik Hans Maier Email: erikhmaier@berkeley.edu
Office: 1305 Dwinelle
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, morphology, fieldwork, language documentation and revitalization, verbal art, Karuk, Germanic languages
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics R1B

Julia Eileen Nee

Julia Nee Email: jnee@berkeley.edu
Office: 1311 Dwinelle
Research interests: Language documentation, syntax, semantics, Mesoamerican linguistics, language contact, Zapotec (Teotitlán del Valle)

Zachary O'Hagan

Zachary O'Hagan Email: zohagan@berkeley.edu
Office: 1314 Dwinelle
Research interests: Language documentation, description, history and contact (Amazonia); historical linguistics; morphosyntax; semantics; information structure

Katie Sardinha

Katie Sardinha Email: katie.sardinha@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax-semantics interface; Language, cognition & culture; agentivity and causation; semantics of psych verbs and mental concepts; fieldwork methodology; Wakashan languages

Tessa Scott

Tessa Scott Email: tessa_scott@berkeley.edu
Office: 1309 Dwinelle
Research interests: syntax; semantics; morphosyntax; typology; fieldwork; East Africa; Bantu languages
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics 100

Tammy Stark

Tammy Stark Email: tammystark@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, historical linguistics, language description and documentation