Faculty, Staff, and Postdoctoral Scholars

Susanne Gahl

Susanne Gahl Associate Professor of Linguistics and Cognitive Science
Email: gahl@berkeley.edu
Office: 1220 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Psycholinguistics; language production and comprehension; aphasia
Fall 2017: Linguistics 108, 200

Keith Johnson

Keith Johnson Professor of Linguistics; Director, PhonLab
Email: keithjohnson@berkeley.edu
Office: 1222 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Linguistic phonetics, phonetic neuroscience, psycholinguistics
2017-18: On sabbatical leave 

Susan Lin

Susan Lin Assistant Professor of Linguistics; Acting Director, PhonLab
Email: susanlin@berkeley.edu
Office: 1215 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Articulatory phonetics, speech perception, sound change
Fall 2017: Linguistics 24, 110

Terry Regier

Terry Regier Professor of Linguistics and Cognitive Science; Director, Program in Cognitive Science
Email: firstname dot lastname at berkeley dot edu
Office: 1221 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Language and thought; semantic variation and universals; computational methods
Fall 2017: Cognitive Science 1B

Ronald Sprouse

Ronald Sprouse Information Systems Analyst
Email: ronald@berkeley.edu
Office: 49 Dwinelle Hall
Portfolio: Programming related to speech production and perception research, including digital signal processing. Linux system administration and web application development for digital language archives and language documentation.

Yang Xu

Yang Xu Postdoctoral Scholar and Lecturer, Linguistics and Cognitive Science
Email:
 yang_xu_ch -at- berkeley daut edu
Research: Semantic change and variation; linguistic relativity; computational modeling

Graduate students

Geoff Bacon

Geoff Bacon Email: bacon@berkeley.edu
Office: 1307 Dwinelle
Research interests: Computational linguistics, learnability, language & cognition
Spring 2017 teaching: Linguistics C146

Sarah Bakst

Sarah Bakst Email: bakst@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics and phonology, in particular retroflexes (especially in languages of India), motor planning, rhotics, and visual phonetics

Auburn Barron-Lutzross

Auburn Barron-Lutzross Email: alutzross@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Experimental phonetics, sociophonetics, phonetics of gender and sexuality, psycholinguistics, accommodation and convergence, speech and aging, signed languages structure and prosody

Will Chang

Will Chang

Email: wchang@gmail.com
Research interests: Statistical phylogenetics, Polynesian, statistical learning, acoustic and articulatory phonetics, natural language processing

Andrew Cheng

Andrew Cheng Email: andrewcheng@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language documentation, experimental phonetics, sociolinguistics

Emily Clem

Emily Clem Email: eclem@berkeley.edu
Office: 1312 Dwinelle
Research interests:
 Syntax, semantics, morphology, language documentation, typology, areal linguistics; Amahuaca, Tswefap, Bulu
Spring 2017 teaching: Linguistics 120

Meg Cychosz

Meg Cychosz Email: mcychosz@berkeley.edu
Research interests: (Socio)phonetics, psycholinguistics: especially bilingual and L2 phonological acquisition

Matthew Faytak

Matt Faytak Email: mf@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonological typology, the actuation of sound change, turbulent sounds, aerodynamics; language documentation and revitalization, lexicography

Dmetri Hayes

Dmetri Hayes Email: dmetri@berkeley.edu
Office: 1312 Dwinelle
Spring 2017 teaching:
Linguistics C160

Noah Hermalin

Noah Hermalin Email: nmhermalin@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language and cognition; writing systems and written language

Tyler Lau

Tyler Lau Email: tylerlau@berkeley.edu
Office
: 1309 Dwinelle
Research interests: 
Historical linguistics, language change, language documentation, Ryukyuan languages
Spring 2017 teaching:
Linguistics 100

Emily Remirez

Emily Remirez Email: eremirez@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Sociocultural and interactional linguistics, lab phonetics and phonology, identity construction, discourse and grammar

Alice Shen

Alice Shen Email: azshen@berkeley.edu
Office: 1307 Dwinelle

Research interests: Phonetics, psycholinguistics, speech perception, bilingualism
Spring 2017 teaching: Linguistics 100

Eric Wilbanks

Eric Wilbanks Email: wilbanks_eric@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics and phonology; sociophonetics; language variation and change; laboratory phonology; speech perception and production; Hispanic linguistics