Faculty, Staff, and Postdoctoral Scholars

Christine Beier

Chris Beier Assistant Adjunct Professor of Linguistics
Email: beiercm@berkeley.edu
Office: 1219 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Language endangerment, documentation, and revitalization; Amazonian languages
Fall 2017: Linguistics 154

Amy Rose Deal

Amy Rose Deal Associate Professor of Linguistics
Email: ardeal@berkeley.edu
Office: 1223 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Syntax, semantics, fieldwork, Nez Perce
Fall 2017: Linguistics 121, 221

Andrew Garrett

Andrew Garrett Professor of Linguistics, Nadine M. Tang and Bruce L. Smith Professor of Cross-Cultural Social Sciences; Chair, Department of Linguistics
Email: garrett@berkeley.edu
Office: 1218 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Historical linguistics; Indo-European; Karuk, Yurok, and California Indian languages
Fall 2017: Linguistics 130, 201

Larry M. Hyman

Larry M. Hyman Professor of Linguistics; Executive Director, France-Berkeley Fund
Email: hyman@berkeley.edu
Office: 1221 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Phonological theory, language typology, African languages, especially Bantu and other Niger-Congo
Fall 2017: On sabbatical leave

Peter Jenks

Peter Jenks Assistant Professor of Linguistics
Email: jenks@berkeley.edu
Office: 1217 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Formal and comparative syntax, semantics, and morphology, especially of Southeast Asian and African languages
Fall 2017: Linguistics 100, 220A

Darya (Даша) Kavitskaya

Darya Kavitskaya Associate Professor of Slavic Languages and Literatures
Email: dkavitskaya@berkeley.edu
Office: 6219 Dwinelle
Research and teaching: Slavic, Turkic, Uralic; phonology and phonetics, historical phonology
Fall 2017: Slavic 50, 100

Lev Michael

Lev Michael Associate Professor of Linguistics; Head Graduate Adviser, Department of Linguistics
Email: levmichael@berkeley.edu
Office: 1212 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Anthropological linguistics, language typology, Amazonian documentary, descriptive, and comparative linguistics, language contact, grammar and interaction, prosodic systems and verbal art, language endangerment and revitalization
Fall 2017: Linguistics 240A

Line Mikkelsen

Line Mikkelsen Associate Professor of Linguistics
Email: mikkelsen@berkeley.edu
Office: 1210 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Syntax, semantics, morphology, Danish and other Germanic languages, Karuk and other languages of California, philosophy of language
Fall 2017: Linguistics 24, C70 

Richard A. Rhodes

Richard Rhodes Associate Professor of Linguistics; Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies; Interim Director, Canadian Studies Program
Email: rrhodes@berkeley.edu
Office: 1214 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: American Indian languages, grammatical theory, phonology and lexicology
Fall 2017: Linguistics 5

Konrad Rybka

Konrad Rybka

Postdoctoral scholar, Department of Linguistics
Email: K.A.Rybka@uva.nl
Research interests: Patterns of lexical and grammatical borrowing in the indigenous languages of the Guianas

Ronald Sprouse

Ronald Sprouse Information Systems Analyst
Email: ronald@berkeley.edu
Office: 49 Dwinelle Hall
Portfolio: Programming related to speech production and perception research, including digital signal processing. Linux system administration and web application development for digital language archives and language documentation.

Graduate students

Kenneth Baclawski Jr.

Kenny Baclawski Email: kbaclawski@berkeley.edu
Office: 1314 Dwinelle

Research interests: Syntax, sociolinguistics, Southeast Asian and Chamic linguistics

Nicholas Baier

Nico Baier Email: nbbaier@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntactic theory; syntax-morphology interface; agreement; typology

Kayla Begay

Kayla Begay Assistant Professor of Native American Studies, Humboldt State University
Email:
kaylarae@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Athabaskan languages, language contact, Native American languages of California, language description and documentation, tense and aspect systems

Emily Clem

Emily Clem Email: eclem@berkeley.edu
Office: 1312 Dwinelle
Research interests:
 Syntax, semantics, morphology, language documentation, typology, areal linguistics; Amahuaca, Tswefap, Bulu
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics 121

Virginia Dawson

Ginny Dawson Email: virginia.dawson@berkeley.edu
Office: 1314 Dwinelle
Research interests: Semantics, syntax, morphology; language documentation; Tiwa (Tibeto-Burman)

Erin Donnelly

Erin Donnelly Email: edonnelly@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Sociolinguistics, historical linguistics, phonology, descriptive linguistics, language documentation

Matthew Faytak

Matt Faytak Email: mf@berkeley.edu
Office: 1305 Dwinelle
Research interests: Articulatory phonetics, acoustic phonetics, sound change, vowel systems
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics R1B

Karee Garvin

Karee Garvin Email: karee_garvin@berkeley.edu
Office: 1309 Dwinelle
Research interests: Phonetics, phonology, phonetics-phonology interface, rhythm, prosody, phonetics-syntax interface, language documentation, African languages, Senufo languages
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics 100

Edwin Ko

Edwin Ko Email: eddersko@berkeley.edu
Office: TBA

Research interests: Syntax, semantics, morphosyntax, language variation and change, historical and comparative linguistics, language documentation and revitalization, Alaska Native and Native American languages (especially Aleut, Crow, Hidatsa, and Northern Pomo)

Myriam Lapierre

Myriam Lapierre Email: myriam.lapierre@berkeley.edu
Office: 1309 Dwinelle
Research interests: Phonetics, phonology, nasality, language documentation and revitalization, Amazonian languages (especially Jê languages)
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics 100

Tyler Lau

Tyler Lau Email: tylerlau@berkeley.edu
Office
: 1307 Dwinelle
Research interests:
Historical and comparative linguistics, language variation and change, computational approaches to language change, phonetics, language documentation and revitalization, Ryukyuan languages
Fall 2017 teaching:
Linguistics 130

Tyler Lemon

Tyler Lemon Email: tylerlemon@berkeley.edu
Office: 1308 Dwinelle
Research interests: Morphology, syntax, phonology, typology, language variation, fieldwork

Erik Hans Maier

Erik Hans Maier Email: erikhmaier@berkeley.edu
Office: 1305 Dwinelle
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, morphology, fieldwork, language documentation and revitalization, verbal art, Karuk, Germanic languages
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics R1B

John T. M. Merrill

Jack Merrill Email:  jtmm@berkeley.edu
Office: 1314 Dwinelle

Research interests: Historical and comparative linguistics, Niger-Congo

Julia Eileen Nee

Julia Nee Email: jnee@berkeley.edu
Office: 1311 Dwinelle
Research interests: Language documentation, syntax, semantics, Mesoamerican linguistics, language contact, Zapotec (Teotitlán del Valle)

Kelsey Neely

Kelsey Neely Email: kelsey.neely@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language documentation, Amazonian linguistics, morphosyntax, language contact. Yaminawa, Nahua (Yora), Yanomami, Máíhɨ̀kì

Zachary O'Hagan

Zachary O'Hagan Email: zohagan@berkeley.edu
Office: 1314 Dwinelle
Research interests: Language documentation, description, history and contact (Amazonia); historical linguistics; morphosyntax; semantics; information structure

Nicholas Rolle

Nik Rolle Email: n.rolle@berkeley.edu
Office: 1219 Dwinelle
Research interests: General: phonology, prosody/tone/accent, the phonology/morphosyntax interface, language description, areal typology, Nigerian languages and West Africa; Specific: dominance effects in prosody, clitics and post-syntactic movement, areal phonology of the Macro-Sudan Belt in Africa, metrical windows and accent assignment, serial verb constructions; Languages: Esan, Edo, Degema, Urhobo, Edoid, Kalabari, Ijoid, Agwara Kambari, Kainji, Niger-Congo, Niuean, Ese'eja
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics 375

Ruth Rouvier

Ruth Rouvier Email: rrouvier@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Historical linguistics, typology, morphology, language contact, areal linguistics

Katie Sardinha

Katie Sardinha Email: katie.sardinha@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax-semantics interface; Language, cognition & culture; agentivity and causation; semantics of psych verbs and mental concepts; fieldwork methodology; Wakashan languages

Martha Schwarz

Martha Schwarz Email: martha_schwarz@berkeley.edu
Office: 1308 Dwinelle
Research interests: Phonology, phonetics-phonology interface, fieldwork, Nepali

Tessa Scott

Tessa Scott Email: tessa_scott@berkeley.edu
Office: 1309 Dwinelle
Research interests: syntax; semantics; morphosyntax; typology; fieldwork; East Africa; Bantu languages
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics 100

Amalia Horan Skilton

Amalia Skilton Email: amalia.skilton@berkeley.edu
Office: 1314 Dwinelle
Research interests: Tukanoan and other Northwest Amazonian languages, language documentation, historical linguistics, phonology, language contact, verbal art

Tammy Stark

Tammy Stark Email: tammystark@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, historical linguistics, language description and documentation