Faculty and Postdoctoral Scholars

Susanne Gahl

Susanne Gahl Associate Professor of Linguistics and Cognitive Science
Email: gahl@berkeley.edu
Office: 1220 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Psycholinguistics; language production and comprehension; aphasia
Fall 2016: Linguistics 200, 208

Keith Johnson

Keith Johnson Professor of Linguistics; Director, PhonLab; Head Graduate Adviser, Department of Linguistics
Email: keithjohnson@berkeley.edu
Office: 1222 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Linguistic phonetics, phonetic neuroscience, psycholinguistics
Fall 2016: Linguistics 110 

George Lakoff

George Lakoff Professor of the Graduate School
Email: lakoff@berkeley.edu
Research: Cognitive linguistics, especially the neural theory of thought and language; conceptual systems, conceptual metaphor, grammar and meaning; the application of cognitive and neural linguistics to politics, literature, psychology, philosophy and mathematics

Terry Regier

Terry Regier Professor of Linguistics and Cognitive Science; Director, Program in Cognitive Science
Email: firstname dot lastname at berkeley dot edu
Office: 1221 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Language and thought; semantic variation and universals; computational methods
Fall 2016: no courses

Eve Sweetser

Eve Sweetser Professor of Linguistics; Director, Celtic Studies Program
Email: sweetser@berkeley.edu
Office: 1211 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Semantics, syntax, historical linguistics, Celtic languages, speech act theory, metaphor theory, semantic change, grammaticalization, grammatical meaning, gesture
Fall 2016: Linguistics 106, 128

Elisabeth Wehling

Elisabeth Wehling Postdoctoral scholar, Department of Linguistics
Email: elisabethwehling@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Embodied cognition, political morality and framing, gesture pragmatics

Yang Xu

Yang Xu Postdoctoral Scholar and Lecturer, Linguistics and Cognitive Science
Email:
 yang_xu_ch -at- berkeley daut edu
Research: Semantic change and variation; linguistic relativity; computational modeling

Graduate students

Geoff Bacon

Geoff Bacon Email: bacon@berkeley.edu
Office: 1307 Dwinelle
Research interests: Computational linguistics, learnability, language & cognition
Spring 2017 teaching: Linguistics C146

Auburn Barron-Lutzross

Auburn Barron-Lutzross Email: alutzross@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Experimental phonetics, sociophonetics, phonetics of gender and sexuality, psycholinguistics, accommodation and convergence, speech and aging, signed languages structure and prosody

Meg Cychosz

Meg Cychosz Email: mcychosz@berkeley.edu
Research interests: (Socio)phonetics, psycholinguistics: especially bilingual and L2 phonological acquisition

Dmetri Hayes

Dmetri Hayes Email: dmetri@berkeley.edu
Office: 1312 Dwinelle
Spring 2017 teaching:
Linguistics C160

Noah Hermalin

Noah Hermalin Email: nmhermalin@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language and cognition; writing systems and written language

Emily Remirez

Emily Remirez Email: eremirez@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Sociocultural and interactional linguistics, lab phonetics and phonology, identity construction, discourse and grammar

Katie Sardinha

Katie Sardinha Email: katie.sardinha@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax-semantics interface; Language, cognition & culture; agentivity and causation; semantics of psych verbs and mental concepts; fieldwork methodology; Wakashan languages

Alice Shen

Alice Shen Email: azshen@berkeley.edu
Office: 1307 Dwinelle

Research interests: Phonetics, psycholinguistics, speech perception, bilingualism
Spring 2017 teaching: Linguistics 100