Christine Beier

Chris Beier Assistant Adjunct Professor of Linguistics
Email: beiercm@berkeley.edu
Office: 1223 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Language endangerment, documentation, and revitalization; Amazonian languages
Fall 2016: Linguistics 154

William F. Hanks

William Hanks Berkeley Distinguished Professor in Linguistic Anthropology
Email: wfhanks@berkeley.edu
Office: 315 Kroeber
Research and teaching: 
The organization and dynamics of routine language use, Shamanism, and colonial history of Yucatan; Mayan languages; semantics and pragmatics, especially deictic systems

Leanne Hinton

Leanne Hinton Professor Emerita of Linguistics
Email: hinton@berkeley.edu
Research: American Indian languages, endangered languages, language revitalization

Keith Johnson

Keith Johnson Professor of Linguistics; Director, PhonLab; Head Graduate Adviser, Department of Linguistics
Email: keithjohnson@berkeley.edu
Office: 1222 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Linguistic phonetics, phonetic neuroscience, psycholinguistics
Fall 2016: Linguistics 110 

Lev Michael

Lev Michael Associate Professor of Linguistics
Email: levmichael@berkeley.edu
Office: 1212 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Anthropological linguistics, language typology, Amazonian documentary, descriptive, and comparative linguistics, language contact, grammar and interaction, prosodic systems and verbal art, language endangerment and revitalization
Fall 2016: Linguistics 240A, 245

Graduate students

Auburn Barron-Lutzross

Auburn Barron-Lutzross Email: alutzross@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Experimental phonetics, sociophonetics, phonetics of gender and sexuality, psycholinguistics, accommodation and convergence, speech and aging, signed languages structure and prosody

Andrew Cheng

Andrew Cheng Email: andrewcheng@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language documentation, experimental phonetics, sociolinguistics

Meg Cychosz

Meg Cychosz Email: mcychosz@berkeley.edu
Research interests: (Socio)phonetics, psycholinguistics: especially bilingual and L2 phonological acquisition

Erin Donnelly

Erin Donnelly Email: edonnelly@berkeley.edu
Office: 1305 Dwinelle

Research interests: Sociolinguistics, historical linguistics, phonology, descriptive linguistics, language documentation
Spring 2017 teaching: Linguistics R1B

Kelsey Neely

Kelsey Neely Email: kelsey.neely@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language documentation, Amazonian linguistics, morphosyntax, language contact. Yaminawa, Nahua (Yora), Yanomami, Máíhɨ̀kì

Eric Heath Prendergast

Eric Prendergast Email: pren@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Interfaces between pragmatics and morphosyntax, information structure and packaging, language contact, Balkan languages, Slavic languages

Emily Remirez

Emily Remirez Email: eremirez@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Sociocultural and interactional linguistics, lab phonetics and phonology, identity construction, discourse and grammar

Eric Wilbanks

Eric Wilbanks Email: wilbanks_eric@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics and phonology; sociophonetics; language variation and change; laboratory phonology; speech perception and production; Hispanic linguistics