People in Syntax and Semantics

Faculty and Postdoctoral Scholars

Bernat Bardagil

Bernat Bardagil-Mas Postdoctoral scholar, Department of Linguistics
Email: bardagil@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Case and agreement, grammatical relations, corpus linguistics, language documentation and revitalization, Amazonian languages

Amy Rose Deal

Amy Rose Deal Associate Professor of Linguistics
Email: ardeal@berkeley.edu
Office: 1223 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Syntax, semantics, fieldwork, Nez Perce
Fall 2019: Linguistics 220A

Peter Jenks

Peter Jenks Associate Professor of Linguistics
Email: jenks@berkeley.edu
Office: 1217 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Formal and comparative syntax, semantics, and morphology, especially of Southeast Asian and African languages
Fall 2019: Linguistics 121

Line Mikkelsen

Line Mikkelsen Associate Professor of Linguistics
Email: mikkelsen@berkeley.edu
Office: 1210 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Syntax, semantics, morphology, Danish and other Germanic languages, Karuk and other languages of California, philosophy of language
Fall 2019: Linguistics 5, 290A

Eve Sweetser

Eve E. Sweetser Professor of Linguistics; Director, Celtic Studies Program
Email: sweetser@berkeley.edu
Office: 1211 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Semantics, syntax, historical linguistics, Celtic languages, speech act theory, metaphor theory, semantic change, grammaticalization, grammatical meaning, gesture
Fall 2019: Linguistics 106, 123

Graduate students

Kenneth Baclawski Jr.

Kenny Baclawski Email: kbaclawski@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, sociolinguistics, Southeast Asian and Chamic linguistics

Madeline Bossi

Madeline Bossi Email: madeline_bossi@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax and its interfaces, semantics, pragmatics, language documentation and revitalization

Virginia Dawson

Ginny Dawson Email: virginia.dawson@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Semantics, syntax, morphology; language documentation; Tiwa (Tibeto-Burman)

Emily Drummond

Emily Drummond Email: emily_drummond@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, language variation and change, language documentation, Polynesian languages, Nukuoro

Edwin Ko

Edwin Ko Email: eddersko@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, morphosyntax, language variation and change, historical and comparative linguistics, language documentation and revitalization, Alaska Native and Native American languages (especially Aleut, Crow, Hidatsa, and Northern Pomo)

Schuyler Laparle

Schuyler Laparle Email: schuyler_laparle@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax and its interfaces, lexical semantics, pragmatics, information structure, metaphor, cognitive linguistics

Tyler Lemon

Tyler Lemon Email: tylerlemon@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Morphology, syntax, phonology, typology, language variation, fieldwork

Erik Hans Maier

Erik Hans Maier Email: erikhmaier@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, morphology, fieldwork, language documentation and revitalization, verbal art, Karuk, Germanic languages

Julia Eileen Nee

Julia Nee Email: jnee@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language documentation and revitalization, syntax, semantics, Mesoamerican linguistics, language contact, Zapotec (Teotitlán del Valle)

Zachary O'Hagan

Zachary O'Hagan Email: zohagan@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Caquinte (Arawak), Omagua (Tupí-Guaraní), Taushiro (isolate), and Omurano (isolate); language documentation, description, history and contact in Amazonia; historical linguistics; morphosyntax; semantics; information structure

Tessa Scott

Tessa Scott Email: tessa_scott@berkeley.edu
Research interests: syntax; semantics; morphosyntax; typology; fieldwork; East Africa; Bantu languages