People in Syntax and Semantics

Faculty and Postdoctoral Scholars

Isaac L. Bleaman

Isaac Bleaman Assistant Professor of Linguistics
Email: bleaman@berkeley.edu
Office: 1216 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching:  Sociolinguistics, language variation and change, sociophonetics, sociosyntax, corpus methods, language contact, multilingualism, language planning, language and ethnicity, Yiddish, Jewish language varieties

Amy Rose Deal

Amy Rose Deal Associate Professor of Linguistics
Email: ardeal@berkeley.edu
Office: 1223 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Syntax, semantics, fieldwork, Nez Perce

Peter Jenks

Peter Jenks Associate Professor of Linguistics
Email: jenks@berkeley.edu
Office: 1217 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Syntax, semantics, phonology, fieldwork; Moro and other Niger-Congo languages; Thai, Mandarin, and other East and Southeast Asian languages

Lev Michael

Lev Michael Professor of Linguistics
Email: levmichael@berkeley.edu
Office: 1212 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Anthropological linguistics, typology, documentation and description of Amazonian languages, South American historical and contact linguistics, language revitalization

Line Mikkelsen

Line Mikkelsen Professor of Linguistics
Email: mikkelsen@berkeley.edu
Office: 1210 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Syntax, semantics, morphology, Danish and other Germanic languages, Karuk and other languages of California, philosophy of language

Zachary O'Hagan

Zachary O'Hagan

Postdoctoral Scholar, Survey of California and Other Indian Languages, Department of Linguistics
Email:
zohagan@berkeley.edu
Office: 1311 Dwinelle Hall
Research:
 Caquinte (Arawak), Omagua (Tupí-Guaraní), Taushiro (isolate), and Omurano (isolate); language documentation, description, history and contact in Amazonia; historical linguistics; morphosyntax; semantics; information structure

Eve Sweetser

Eve E. Sweetser

Professor of Linguistics; Director, Celtic Studies Program
Email: sweetser@berkeley.edu
Office: 1211 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Semantics, syntax, historical linguistics, Celtic languages, speech act theory, metaphor theory, semantic change, grammaticalization, grammatical meaning, gesture

Graduate students

Madeline Bossi

Madeline Bossi Email: madeline_bossi@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax and its interfaces, semantics, pragmatics, language documentation and revitalization

Maksymilian Dabkowski

Maksymilian Dąbkowski Email: dabkowski@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonology and its interfaces, semantics, language documentation, language revitalization, logic, psycholinguistics

Emily Drummond

Emily Drummond Email: emily_drummond@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, language variation and change, language documentation, Polynesian languages, Nukuoro

Rebecca Jarvis

Rebecca Jarvis Pronouns: she, her, hers
Email: rjarvis@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Semantics, syntax, pragmatics, language variation and change

Edwin Ko

Edwin Ko Email: eddersko@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, morphosyntax, language variation and change, historical and comparative linguistics, language documentation and revitalization, Alaska Native and Native American languages (especially Aleut, Crow, Hidatsa, and Northern Pomo)

Schuyler Laparle

Schuyler Laparle Email: schuyler_laparle@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax and its interfaces, lexical semantics, pragmatics, information structure, metaphor, cognitive linguistics

Tyler Lemon

Tyler Lemon Email: tylerlemon@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Morphology, syntax, phonology, typology, language variation, fieldwork

Samuel Liff

Samuel Liff Email: liff@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Computational linguistics, experimental methods, syntax, language attitudes, language varieties of the Jewish diaspora (especially Yiddish)

Erik Hans Maier

Erik Hans Maier Email: erikhmaier@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, morphology, fieldwork, language documentation and revitalization, verbal art, Karuk, Germanic languages

Julia Eileen Nee

Julia Nee Email: jnee@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language documentation and revitalization, syntax, semantics, Mesoamerican linguistics, language contact, Zapotec (Teotitlán del Valle)

Tessa Scott

Tessa Scott Email: tessa_scott@berkeley.edu
Research interests: syntax; semantics; morphosyntax; typology; fieldwork; East Africa; Bantu languages

Mingyu Yuan

Mingyu Yuan Email: mingyu@berkeley.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers
Research interests: Syntax, speech perception/production, psycholinguistics, computational linguistics