Graduate Students

Kenneth Baclawski Jr.

Kenny Baclawski Email: kbaclawski@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, sociolinguistics, Southeast Asian and Chamic linguistics

Geoff Bacon

Geoff Bacon Email: bacon@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Computational linguistics, learnability, language & cognition

Madeline Bossi

Madeline Bossi Email: madeline_bossi@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax and its interfaces, semantics, pragmatics, language documentation and revitalization

Andrew Cheng

Andrew Cheng Email: andrewcheng@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Experimental phonetics and phonology, sociolinguistics, bilingualism, speech and identity, Korean linguistics

Emily Clem

Emily Clem Email: eclem@berkeley.edu
Research interests:
 Syntax, semantics, morphology, language documentation, typology, areal linguistics; Amahuaca, Tswefap, Bulu

Meg Cychosz

Meg Cychosz Email: mcychosz@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, child phonology, psycholinguistics

Virginia Dawson

Ginny Dawson Email: virginia.dawson@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Semantics, syntax, morphology; language documentation; Tiwa (Tibeto-Burman)

Erin Donnelly

Erin Donnelly Email: edonnelly@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Sociolinguistics, historical linguistics, phonology, descriptive linguistics, language documentation

Wesley dos Santos

Wesley dos Santos Email: wesleynascimento@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language documentation and description, historical linguistics, Amazonian languages (especially Kawahiva, a Tupí-Guaraní language)

Emily Drummond

Emily Drummond Email: emily_drummond@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, language variation and change, language documentation, Polynesian languages, Nukuoro

Karee Garvin

Karee Garvin Email: karee_garvin@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, phonology, phonetics-phonology interface, rhythm, prosody, phonetics-syntax interface, language documentation, African languages, Senufo languages

Emily Grabowski

Emily Grabowski Email: emily_grabowski@berkeley.edu
Research interests: phonetics, phonology, tone, quantitative methods, language documentation

Dmetri Hayes

Dmetri Hayes Email: dmetri@berkeley.edu
Pronouns: he, him, his
Research interests: Adult second language learning, language revitalization, computational linguistics, psycholinguistics

Noah Hermalin

Noah Hermalin Email: nmhermalin@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language and cognition; writing systems and written language

Edwin Ko

Edwin Ko Email: eddersko@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, morphosyntax, language variation and change, historical and comparative linguistics, language documentation and revitalization, Alaska Native and Native American languages (especially Aleut, Crow, Hidatsa, and Northern Pomo)

Schuyler Laparle

Schuyler Laparle Email: schuyler_laparle@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax and its interfaces, lexical semantics, pragmatics, information structure, metaphor, cognitive linguistics

Myriam Lapierre

Myriam Lapierre Email: myriam.lapierre@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, phonology, nasality, language documentation and revitalization, Amazonian languages (especially Jê languages)

Tyler Lau

Tyler Lau Email: tylerlau@berkeley.edu
Research interests:
Historical and comparative linguistics, language variation and change, computational approaches to language change, phonetics, language documentation and revitalization, Ryukyuan languages

Tyler Lemon

Tyler Lemon Email: tylerlemon@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Morphology, syntax, phonology, typology, language variation, fieldwork

Erik Hans Maier

Erik Hans Maier Email: erikhmaier@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, morphology, fieldwork, language documentation and revitalization, verbal art, Karuk, Germanic languages

Yevgeniy Melguy

Yevgeniy Melguy Email: ymelguy@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics-phonology interface, lab phonology, speech perception/production, bilingualism

Julia Eileen Nee

Julia Nee Email: jnee@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language documentation and revitalization, syntax, semantics, Mesoamerican linguistics, language contact, Zapotec (Teotitlán del Valle)

Kelsey Neely

Kelsey Neely Email: kelsey.neely@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language documentation, Amazonian linguistics, morphosyntax, language contact. Yaminawa, Nahua (Yora), Yanomami, Máíhɨ̀kì

Zachary O'Hagan

Zachary O'Hagan Email: zohagan@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Caquinte (Arawak), Omagua (Tupí-Guaraní), Taushiro (isolate), and Omurano (isolate); language documentation, description, history and contact in Amazonia; historical linguistics; morphosyntax; semantics; information structure

Emily Remirez

Emily Remirez Email: eremirez@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Sociocultural and interactional linguistics, lab phonetics and phonology (especially speech perception), identity construction

Ruth Rouvier

Ruth Rouvier Email: rrouvier@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Historical linguistics, typology, morphology, language contact, areal linguistics

Martha Schwarz

Martha Schwarz Email: martha_schwarz@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonology, phonetics-phonology interface, fieldwork, Nepali

Tessa Scott

Tessa Scott Email: tessa_scott@berkeley.edu
Research interests: syntax; semantics; morphosyntax; typology; fieldwork; East Africa; Bantu languages

Alice Shen

Alice Shen Email: azshen@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, psycholinguistics, speech perception, bilingualism

Amalia Horan Skilton

Amalia Skilton Email: amalia.skilton@berkeley.edu
Pronouns: she/her
Research interests: Northwestern Amazonian languages; pragmatics; semantics; linguistic anthropology; language documentation; phonology; verbal art

Lupita Vasquez

Lupita Vasquez Email: nvasquez@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, phonology, bilingualism, psycholinguistics, speech perception and speech production

Eric Wilbanks

Eric Wilbanks Email: wilbanks_eric@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics and phonology; sociophonetics; language variation and change; laboratory phonology; speech perception and production; Hispanic linguistics