Graduate Students

Kenneth Baclawski Jr.

Kenny Baclawski Email: kbaclawski@berkeley.edu
Office: 1314 Dwinelle

Research interests: Syntax, sociolinguistics, Southeast Asian and Chamic linguistics

Geoff Bacon

Geoff Bacon Email: bacon@berkeley.edu
Office: 1312 Dwinelle
Research interests: Computational linguistics, learnability, language & cognition
Fall 2017 teaching: Cognitive Science 1B

Nicholas Baier

Nico Baier Email: nbbaier@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntactic theory; syntax-morphology interface; agreement; typology

Auburn Barron-Lutzross

Auburn Barron-Lutzross Email: alutzross@berkeley.edu
Office: 50 Dwinelle

Research interests: Experimental phonetics, sociophonetics, phonetics of gender and sexuality, psycholinguistics, accommodation and convergence, speech and aging, signed languages structure and prosody

Andrew Cheng

Andrew Cheng Email: andrewcheng@berkeley.edu
Office: 1307 Dwinelle
Research interests: Language documentation, experimental phonetics, sociolinguistics
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics 110

Emily Clem

Emily Clem Email: eclem@berkeley.edu
Office: 1312 Dwinelle
Research interests:
 Syntax, semantics, morphology, language documentation, typology, areal linguistics; Amahuaca, Tswefap, Bulu
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics 121

Meg Cychosz

Meg Cychosz Email: mcychosz@berkeley.edu
Office: 1307 Dwinelle
Research interests: (Socio)phonetics, psycholinguistics: especially bilingual and L2 phonological acquisition
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics 130

Virginia Dawson

Ginny Dawson Email: virginia.dawson@berkeley.edu
Office: 1314 Dwinelle
Research interests: Semantics, syntax, morphology; language documentation; Tiwa (Tibeto-Burman)

Erin Donnelly

Erin Donnelly Email: edonnelly@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Sociolinguistics, historical linguistics, phonology, descriptive linguistics, language documentation

Matthew Faytak

Matt Faytak Email: mf@berkeley.edu
Office: 1305 Dwinelle
Research interests: Articulatory phonetics, acoustic phonetics, sound change, vowel systems
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics R1B

Karee Garvin

Karee Garvin Email: karee_garvin@berkeley.edu
Office: 1309 Dwinelle
Research interests: Phonetics, phonology, phonetics-phonology interface, rhythm, prosody, phonetics-syntax interface, language documentation, African languages, Senufo languages
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics 100

Dmetri Hayes

Dmetri Hayes Email: dmetri@berkeley.edu
Office: 1312 Dwinelle
Research interests: Psycholinguistics, employing and improving computational methods in linguistics, language revitalization
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics 100

Noah Hermalin

Noah Hermalin Email: nmhermalin@berkeley.edu
Office: 1309 Dwinelle
Research interests: Language and cognition; writing systems and written language
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics 100

Edwin Ko

Edwin Ko Email: eddersko@berkeley.edu
Office: 1308 Dwinelle
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, morphosyntax, language variation and change, historical and comparative linguistics, language documentation and revitalization, Alaska Native and Native American languages (especially Aleut, Crow, Hidatsa, and Northern Pomo)

Schuyler Laparle

Schuyler Laparle Email: schuyler_laparle@berkeley.edu
Office: 1308 Dwinelle
Research interests: Syntax and its interfaces, lexical semantics, pragmatics, information structure, metaphor, cognitive linguistics

Myriam Lapierre

Myriam Lapierre Email: myriam.lapierre@berkeley.edu
Office: 1309 Dwinelle
Research interests: Phonetics, phonology, nasality, language documentation and revitalization, Amazonian languages (especially Jê languages)
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics 100

Tyler Lau

Tyler Lau Email: tylerlau@berkeley.edu
Office
: 1307 Dwinelle
Research interests:
Historical and comparative linguistics, language variation and change, computational approaches to language change, phonetics, language documentation and revitalization, Ryukyuan languages
Fall 2017 teaching:
Linguistics 130

Tyler Lemon

Tyler Lemon Email: tylerlemon@berkeley.edu
Office: 1308 Dwinelle
Research interests: Morphology, syntax, phonology, typology, language variation, fieldwork

Erik Hans Maier

Erik Hans Maier Email: erikhmaier@berkeley.edu
Office: 1305 Dwinelle
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, morphology, fieldwork, language documentation and revitalization, verbal art, Karuk, Germanic languages
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics R1B

Yevgeniy Melguy

Yevgeniy Melguy Email: ymelguy@berkeley.edu
Office: 50 Dwinelle
Research interests: Phonetics-phonology interface, lab phonology, speech perception/production, bilingualism

John T. M. Merrill

Jack Merrill Email:  jtmm@berkeley.edu
Office: 1314 Dwinelle

Research interests: Historical and comparative linguistics, Niger-Congo

Julia Eileen Nee

Julia Nee Email: jnee@berkeley.edu
Office: 1311 Dwinelle
Research interests: Language documentation, syntax, semantics, Mesoamerican linguistics, language contact, Zapotec (Teotitlán del Valle)

Kelsey Neely

Kelsey Neely Email: kelsey.neely@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language documentation, Amazonian linguistics, morphosyntax, language contact. Yaminawa, Nahua (Yora), Yanomami, Máíhɨ̀kì

Zachary O'Hagan

Zachary O'Hagan Email: zohagan@berkeley.edu
Office: 1314 Dwinelle
Research interests: Language documentation, description, history and contact (Amazonia); historical linguistics; morphosyntax; semantics; information structure

Emily Remirez

Emily Remirez Email: eremirez@berkeley.edu
Office: 1305 Dwinelle
Research interests: Sociocultural and interactional linguistics, lab phonetics and phonology (especially speech perception), identity construction
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics 5

Nicholas Rolle

Nik Rolle Email: n.rolle@berkeley.edu
Office: 1219 Dwinelle
Research interests: General: phonology, prosody/tone/accent, the phonology/morphosyntax interface, language description, areal typology, Nigerian languages and West Africa; Specific: dominance effects in prosody, clitics and post-syntactic movement, areal phonology of the Macro-Sudan Belt in Africa, metrical windows and accent assignment, serial verb constructions; Languages: Esan, Edo, Degema, Urhobo, Edoid, Kalabari, Ijoid, Agwara Kambari, Kainji, Niger-Congo, Niuean, Ese'eja
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics 375

Ruth Rouvier

Ruth Rouvier Email: rrouvier@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Historical linguistics, typology, morphology, language contact, areal linguistics

Martha Schwarz

Martha Schwarz Email: martha_schwarz@berkeley.edu
Office: 1308 Dwinelle
Research interests: Phonology, phonetics-phonology interface, fieldwork, Nepali

Tessa Scott

Tessa Scott Email: tessa_scott@berkeley.edu
Office: 1309 Dwinelle
Research interests: syntax; semantics; morphosyntax; typology; fieldwork; East Africa; Bantu languages
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics 100

Alice Shen

Alice Shen Email: azshen@berkeley.edu
Office: 1307 Dwinelle

Research interests: Phonetics, psycholinguistics, speech perception, bilingualism
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics 110

Amalia Horan Skilton

Amalia Skilton Email: amalia.skilton@berkeley.edu
Office: 1314 Dwinelle
Research interests: Tukanoan and other Northwest Amazonian languages, language documentation, historical linguistics, phonology, language contact, verbal art

Tammy Stark

Tammy Stark Email: tammystark@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, historical linguistics, language description and documentation

Eric Wilbanks

Eric Wilbanks Email: wilbanks_eric@berkeley.edu
Office: 1305 Dwinelle
Research interests: Phonetics and phonology; sociophonetics; language variation and change; laboratory phonology; speech perception and production; Hispanic linguistics
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics 5