Officers, Committees, Organizers

The Berkeley Linguistics Department is successful because faculty, staff, and graduate and undergraduate students work together in support of our shared goals. Collaborating with staff, faculty serve on department committees and in other leadership positions. Graduate students take the lead in organizing fora and research groups, and represent student interests on committees.

Department officers (21/22)

  • Chair: Keith Johnson
  • Head Graduate Adviser: Susanne Gahl
  • GSI Advisor: Line Mikkelsen
  • Head Undergraduate Advisor: Peter Jenks
  • Equity Advisor: Line Mikkelsen, Amy Rose Deal (fall)

Department Staff

  • Department Manager: Siti Keo
  • Graduate Student and Visiting Scholar Services: Johnny Morales Arellano
  • Undergraduate Student Services: Martine Alexander
  • Information Systems Analyst: Ronald Sprouse

Committees & Service

  • Graduate Studies: Susanne Gahl (chair), Terry Regier, Andrew Garrett, Keith Johnson; Johnny Morales Arellano, Eric Wilbanks, Dakota Robinson
  • Undergraduate Studies: Peter Jenks, Hannah Sande, Susan Lin; Martine Alexander
  • Climate: Line Mikkelsen, Chris Beier, Raksit Lau-Preechathammarach, Noah Hermalin, Tzintia Montaño
  • Colloquium: Isaac Bleaman, Eve Sweetser, Shweta Akolkar, Amber Galvano, Emily Drummond
  • Webmaster: Lev Michael
  • Calques: Isaac Bleaman, Amy Rose Deal
  • @BerkeleyLing: Peter Jenks, Gašper Beguš, Siti Keo
  • Industry Liaison: Eve Sweetser
  • Academic Job Preparation: Gašper Beguš, Larry Hyman
  • Oswalt Grants: Andrew Garrett (chair), Peter Jenks, Darya Kavitskaya
  • Graduate Student Representatives to faculty meetings: Tessa Scott, Madeline Bossi
  • Graduate Assembly student representative: Tyler Lemon
  • BLS Officer: Alex Elias

Research group organizers

  • TABLE: Toward a Better Linguistics Environment (fall colloquium series): Emily Remirez, Dakota Robinson, Raksit Lau-Preechathammarach, Phuong Khuu, Ernesto Gutiérrez Topete, and Julia Nee
  • Gesture and multi-modality : Eve Sweetser, Schuyler Laparle
  • Fieldwork Forum : Hannah Sande, Zach Wellstood, Anna Björklund
  • Phonetics and Phonology : Keith Johnson (fall), Gašper Beguš (spring), Katherine Russell, Maks Dabkowski
  • Syntax & Semantics Circle : Peter Jenks, Phuong Khuu, Becky Jarvis
  • Language Revitalization Group : Beth Piatote, Julia Nee, Martha Schwartz, Allegra Robertson
  • Sociolinguistics Lab at Berkley (SLaB): Isaac Bleaman, Justin Davidson, Aurora Kane, Ben Papadopoulos