People in Fieldwork and Language Documentation

Faculty, Staff, and Postdoctoral Scholars

Christine Beier

Chris Beier Assistant Adjunct Professor of Linguistics
Email: beiercm@berkeley.edu
Office: 1224 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Language endangerment, vitality, and revitalization; language documentation and description; Amazonian languages
2020-21: On research leave

Amy Rose Deal

Amy Rose Deal Associate Professor of Linguistics
Email: ardeal@berkeley.edu
Office: 1223 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Syntax, semantics, fieldwork, Nez Perce
Fall 2020: Not teaching

Andrew Garrett

Andrew Garrett

Professor of Linguistics, Nadine M. Tang and Bruce L. Smith Professor of Cross-Cultural Social Sciences
Pronouns: he, him, his
Email: garrett@berkeley.edu
Office: 1218 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Historical linguistics; Indo-European; Karuk, Yurok, and California Indian languages
Fall 2020: Linguistics 130, 230

Larry M. Hyman

Larry M. Hyman Professor of Linguistics; Executive Director, France-Berkeley Fund
Email: hyman@berkeley.edu
Office: 1225 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Phonological theory, language typology, African languages, especially Bantu and other Niger-Congo
Fall 2019: Linguistics 5, 211B

Peter Jenks

Peter Jenks Associate Professor of Linguistics
Email: jenks@berkeley.edu
Office: 1217 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Syntax, semantics, phonology, fieldwork; Moro and other Niger-Congo languages; Thai, Mandarin, and other East and Southeast Asian languages
Fall 2020: Linguistics 100, 220A

Darya (Даша) Kavitskaya

Darya Kavitskaya Associate Professor of Slavic Languages and Literatures and of Linguistics
Email: dkavitskaya@berkeley.edu
Office: 6219 Dwinelle
Research and teaching: Slavic, Turkic, Uralic; phonology and phonetics, historical phonology
Fall 2020: Linguistics 111

Lev Michael

Lev Michael Professor of Linguistics; Head Graduate Adviser, Department of Linguistics
Email: levmichael@berkeley.edu
Office: 1212 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Anthropological linguistics, language typology, Amazonian documentary, descriptive, and comparative linguistics, language contact, grammar and interaction, prosodic systems and verbal art, language endangerment and revitalization
Fall 2020: Linguistics 240A

Line Mikkelsen

Line Mikkelsen Associate Professor of Linguistics
Email: mikkelsen@berkeley.edu
Office: 1210 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Syntax, semantics, morphology, Danish and other Germanic languages, Karuk and other languages of California, philosophy of language
Fall 2020: Linguistics 200, 251, 375

Richard A. Rhodes

Richard Rhodes Associate Professor of Linguistics; Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies; Co-Director, Canadian Studies Program
Email: rrhodes@berkeley.edu
Office: 1214 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: American Indian languages, grammatical theory, phonology and lexicology
Fall 2020: Linguistics 170

Ronald Sprouse

Ronald Sprouse Information Systems Analyst
Email: ronald@berkeley.edu
Office: 49 Dwinelle Hall
Portfolio: Programming related to speech production and perception research, including digital signal processing. Linux system administration and web application development for digital language archives and language documentation.

Graduate students

Madeline Bossi

Madeline Bossi Email: madeline_bossi@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax and its interfaces, semantics, pragmatics, language documentation and revitalization

Maksymilian Dabkowski

Maksymilian Dąbkowski Email: dabkowski@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonology and its interfaces, semantics, language documentation, language revitalization, logic, psycholinguistics

Erin Donnelly

Erin Donnelly Email: edonnelly@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Sociolinguistics, historical linguistics, phonology, descriptive linguistics, language documentation

Wesley dos Santos

Wesley dos Santos Email: wesleynascimento@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language documentation and description, historical linguistics, Amazonian languages (especially Kawahiva, a Tupí-Guaraní language)

Emily Drummond

Emily Drummond Email: emily_drummond@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, language variation and change, language documentation, Polynesian languages, Nukuoro

Karee Garvin

Karee Garvin Email: karee_garvin@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, phonology, phonetics-phonology interface, rhythm, prosody, phonetics-syntax interface, language documentation, African languages, Senufo languages

Emily Grabowski

Emily Grabowski Email: emily_grabowski@berkeley.edu
Research interests: phonetics, phonology, tone, quantitative methods, language documentation

Edwin Ko

Edwin Ko Email: eddersko@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, morphosyntax, language variation and change, historical and comparative linguistics, language documentation and revitalization, Alaska Native and Native American languages (especially Aleut, Crow, Hidatsa, and Northern Pomo)

Myriam Lapierre

Myriam Lapierre Email: myriam.lapierre@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, phonology, nasality, language documentation and revitalization, Amazonian languages (especially Jê languages)

Raksit Tyler Lau-Preechathammarach

Tyler Lau Email: raksit@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Sound change, experimental phonetics, tonogenesis, perception-production link, documentation & revitalization, Austroasiatic languages, Ryukyuan languages

Tyler Lemon

Tyler Lemon Email: tylerlemon@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Morphology, syntax, phonology, typology, language variation, fieldwork

Erik Hans Maier

Erik Hans Maier Email: erikhmaier@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, morphology, fieldwork, language documentation and revitalization, verbal art, Karuk, Germanic languages

Tzintia Montano Ramirez

Tzintia Montano Ramirez Pronouns: she, her, hers
Email: cynthia.montano@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Otomanguean languages, especially Mixtec of Puebla

Julia Eileen Nee

Julia Nee Email: jnee@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language documentation and revitalization, syntax, semantics, Mesoamerican linguistics, language contact, Zapotec (Teotitlán del Valle)

Zachary O'Hagan

Zachary O'Hagan Email: zohagan@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Caquinte (Arawak), Omagua (Tupí-Guaraní), Taushiro (isolate), and Omurano (isolate); language documentation, description, history and contact in Amazonia; historical linguistics; morphosyntax; semantics; information structure

Ruth Rouvier

Ruth Rouvier Email: rrouvier@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Historical linguistics, typology, morphology, language contact, areal linguistics

Katherine Russell

Katherine Russell

Email: katherine.russell@berkeley.edu
Pronouns: she, her, hers
Research interests:
Phonology, fieldwork, typology, tone, West African languages, language documentation

Martha Schwarz

Martha Schwarz Email: martha_schwarz@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonology, phonetics-phonology interface, fieldwork, Nepali

Tessa Scott

Tessa Scott Email: tessa_scott@berkeley.edu
Research interests: syntax; semantics; morphosyntax; typology; fieldwork; East Africa; Bantu languages