People in Historical and Areal Linguistics

Faculty and Postdoctoral Scholars

Andrew Garrett

Andrew Garrett

Professor of Linguistics, Nadine M. Tang and Bruce L. Smith Professor of Cross-Cultural Social Sciences
Pronouns: he, him, his
Email: garrett@berkeley.edu
Office: 1218 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Historical linguistics; Indo-European; Karuk, Yurok, and California Indian languages
2019-20: On sabbatical leave

Gary Holland

Gary Holland Professor of Linguistics (1980-2017)
Email: gholland@berkeley.edu
Research: Indo-European linguistics, historical linguistics, history of linguistics, language typology

Larry M. Hyman

Larry M. Hyman Professor of Linguistics; Executive Director, France-Berkeley Fund
Email: hyman@berkeley.edu
Office: 1225 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Phonological theory, language typology, African languages, especially Bantu and other Niger-Congo
Fall 2019: Linguistics 24, 140, 290E

James A. Matisoff

James A. Matisoff Professor Emeritus of Linguistics
Email: matisoff@berkeley.edu
Research: Southeast Asian languages, especially Tibeto-Burman and Thai, Chinese, Japanese, field linguistics, Yiddish studies, historical semantics, psychosemantics, language typology, area linguistics

Lev Michael

Lev Michael Associate Professor of Linguistics
Email: levmichael@berkeley.edu
Office: 1212 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Anthropological linguistics, language typology, Amazonian documentary, descriptive, and comparative linguistics, language contact, grammar and interaction, prosodic systems and verbal art, language endangerment and revitalization
2019-20: On sabbatical leave

Johanna Nichols

Johanna Nichols Professor Emerita of Slavic Languages and Literatures
Email: johanna@berkeley.edu
Research: Historical linguistics; typology, including historical typology; linguistic geography and areal linguistics. Chechen, Ingush, Russian

Richard A. Rhodes

Richard Rhodes Associate Professor of Linguistics; Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies; Co-Director, Canadian Studies Program
Email: rrhodes@berkeley.edu
Office: 1214 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: American Indian languages, grammatical theory, phonology and lexicology
Fall 2019: On sabbatical leave

Eve Sweetser

Eve E. Sweetser Professor of Linguistics; Director, Celtic Studies Program
Email: sweetser@berkeley.edu
Office: 1211 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Semantics, syntax, historical linguistics, Celtic languages, speech act theory, metaphor theory, semantic change, grammaticalization, grammatical meaning, gesture
Fall 2019: Linguistics 106, 123

Graduate students

Kenneth Baclawski Jr.

Kenny Baclawski Email: kbaclawski@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, sociolinguistics, Southeast Asian and Chamic linguistics

Emily Clem

Emily Clem Email: eclem@berkeley.edu
Research interests:
 Syntax, semantics, morphology, language documentation, typology, areal linguistics; Amahuaca, Tswefap, Bulu

Erin Donnelly

Erin Donnelly Email: edonnelly@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Sociolinguistics, historical linguistics, phonology, descriptive linguistics, language documentation

Wesley dos Santos

Wesley dos Santos Email: wesleynascimento@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language documentation and description, historical linguistics, Amazonian languages (especially Kawahiva, a Tupí-Guaraní language)

Emily Drummond

Emily Drummond Email: emily_drummond@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, language variation and change, language documentation, Polynesian languages, Nukuoro

Edwin Ko

Edwin Ko Email: eddersko@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, morphosyntax, language variation and change, historical and comparative linguistics, language documentation and revitalization, Alaska Native and Native American languages (especially Aleut, Crow, Hidatsa, and Northern Pomo)

Raksit Tyler Lau

Tyler Lau Email: raksit@berkeley.edu
Research interests:
 Language variation and change; phonetics; historical linguistics; tonogenesis; voice quality; language documentation and revitalization; Southeast Asian and Austroasiatic languages: Kuy (Katuic), Thro (Katuic), So Thavung (Vietic); Southern Ryukyuan languages: Yaeyaman, Yonaguni

Zachary O'Hagan

Zachary O'Hagan Email: zohagan@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Caquinte (Arawak), Omagua (Tupí-Guaraní), Taushiro (isolate), and Omurano (isolate); language documentation, description, history and contact in Amazonia; historical linguistics; morphosyntax; semantics; information structure

Ruth Rouvier

Ruth Rouvier Email: rrouvier@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Historical linguistics, typology, morphology, language contact, areal linguistics