People in Computational and Experimental Methods

Faculty, Staff, and Postdoctoral Scholars

Susanne Gahl

Susanne Gahl Associate Professor of Linguistics and Cognitive Science
Email: gahl@berkeley.edu
Office: 1220 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Psycholinguistics; language production and comprehension; aphasia
Fall 2018: On sabbatical leave

Keith Johnson

Keith Johnson Professor of Linguistics; Director, PhonLab; Chair, Department of Linguistics
Email: keithjohnson@berkeley.edu
Office: 1222 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Linguistic phonetics, phonetic neuroscience, psycholinguistics
Fall 2018: Linguistics 110 

Susan Lin

Susan Lin Assistant Professor of Linguistics
Email: susanlin@berkeley.edu
Office: 1215 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Articulatory phonetics, speech perception, sound change
Fall 2018: On sabbatical leave

Terry Regier

Terry Regier Professor of Linguistics and Cognitive Science
Email: firstname dot lastname at berkeley dot edu
Office: 1221 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Language and thought; semantic variation and universals; computational methods
2018-19: On sabbatical leave

Ronald Sprouse

Ronald Sprouse Information Systems Analyst
Email: ronald@berkeley.edu
Office: 49 Dwinelle Hall
Portfolio: Programming related to speech production and perception research, including digital signal processing. Linux system administration and web application development for digital language archives and language documentation.

Jesse Zymet

Jesse Zymet Lecturer in Linguistics
Email: jzymet@berkeley.edu
Office: 1213 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Phonology and its interfaces with morphology and phonetics; learnability; computational psycholinguistics; Malagasy; Maragoli
Fall 2018: Linguistics 10, 211A

Graduate students

Geoff Bacon

Geoff Bacon Email: bacon@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Computational linguistics, learnability, language & cognition

Andrew Cheng

Andrew Cheng Email: andrewcheng@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Experimental phonetics and phonology, sociolinguistics, bilingualism, speech and identity, Korean linguistics

Emily Clem

Emily Clem Email: eclem@berkeley.edu
Research interests:
 Syntax, semantics, morphology, language documentation, typology, areal linguistics; Amahuaca, Tswefap, Bulu

Meg Cychosz

Meg Cychosz Email: mcychosz@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, child phonology, psycholinguistics

Karee Garvin

Karee Garvin Email: karee_garvin@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, phonology, phonetics-phonology interface, rhythm, prosody, phonetics-syntax interface, language documentation, African languages, Senufo languages

Dmetri Hayes

Dmetri Hayes Email: dmetri@berkeley.edu
Pronouns: he, him, his
Research interests: Adult second language learning, language revitalization, computational linguistics, psycholinguistics

Noah Hermalin

Noah Hermalin Email: nmhermalin@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language and cognition; writing systems and written language

Edwin Ko

Edwin Ko Email: eddersko@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, morphosyntax, language variation and change, historical and comparative linguistics, language documentation and revitalization, Alaska Native and Native American languages (especially Aleut, Crow, Hidatsa, and Northern Pomo)

Raksit Tyler Lau

Tyler Lau Email: raksit@berkeley.edu
Research interests:
 Language variation and change; phonetics; historical linguistics; tonogenesis; voice quality; language documentation and revitalization; Southeast Asian and Austroasiatic languages: Kuy (Katuic), Thro (Katuic), So Thavung (Vietic); Southern Ryukyuan languages: Yaeyaman, Yonaguni

Emily Remirez

Emily Remirez Email: eremirez@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Sociocultural and interactional linguistics, lab phonetics and phonology (especially speech perception), identity construction

Alice Shen

Alice Shen Email: azshen@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, psycholinguistics, speech perception, bilingualism

Eric Wilbanks

Eric Wilbanks Email: wilbanks_eric@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics and phonology; sociophonetics; language variation and change; laboratory phonology; speech perception and production; Hispanic linguistics