People in Computational and Experimental Methods

Faculty, Staff, and Postdoctoral Scholars

Susanne Gahl

Susanne Gahl Associate Professor of Linguistics and Cognitive Science
Email: gahl@berkeley.edu
Office: 1220 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Psycholinguistics; language production and comprehension; aphasia
Spring 2018: Linguistics 109, 290M

Keith Johnson

Keith Johnson Professor of Linguistics; Director, PhonLab
Email: keithjohnson@berkeley.edu
Office: 1222 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Linguistic phonetics, phonetic neuroscience, psycholinguistics
2017-18: On sabbatical leave 

Susan Lin

Susan Lin Assistant Professor of Linguistics; Acting Director, PhonLab
Email: susanlin@berkeley.edu
Office: 1215 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Articulatory phonetics, speech perception, sound change
Spring 2018: Linguistics 210

Terry Regier

Terry Regier Professor of Linguistics and Cognitive Science; Director, Program in Cognitive Science
Email: firstname dot lastname at berkeley dot edu
Office: 1221 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Language and thought; semantic variation and universals; computational methods
Spring 2018: Linguistics 243

Ronald Sprouse

Ronald Sprouse Information Systems Analyst
Email: ronald@berkeley.edu
Office: 49 Dwinelle Hall
Portfolio: Programming related to speech production and perception research, including digital signal processing. Linux system administration and web application development for digital language archives and language documentation.

Graduate students

Geoff Bacon

Geoff Bacon Email: bacon@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Computational linguistics, learnability, language & cognition

Andrew Cheng

Andrew Cheng Email: andrewcheng@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language documentation, experimental phonetics, sociolinguistics

Emily Clem

Emily Clem Email: eclem@berkeley.edu
Research interests:
 Syntax, semantics, morphology, language documentation, typology, areal linguistics; Amahuaca, Tswefap, Bulu

Meg Cychosz

Meg Cychosz Email: mcychosz@berkeley.edu
Research interests: (Socio)phonetics, psycholinguistics: especially bilingual and L2 phonological acquisition

Matthew Faytak

Matt Faytak Email: mf@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Articulatory phonetics, acoustic phonetics, sound change, vowel systems

Karee Garvin

Karee Garvin Email: karee_garvin@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, phonology, phonetics-phonology interface, rhythm, prosody, phonetics-syntax interface, language documentation, African languages, Senufo languages

Dmetri Hayes

Dmetri Hayes Email: dmetri@berkeley.edu
Office: 1312 Dwinelle
Research interests: Psycholinguistics, employing and improving computational methods in linguistics, language revitalization
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics 100

Noah Hermalin

Noah Hermalin Email: nmhermalin@berkeley.edu
Office: 1309 Dwinelle
Research interests: Language and cognition; writing systems and written language
Fall 2017 teaching: Linguistics 100

Edwin Ko

Edwin Ko Email: eddersko@berkeley.edu
Office: 1308 Dwinelle
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, morphosyntax, language variation and change, historical and comparative linguistics, language documentation and revitalization, Alaska Native and Native American languages (especially Aleut, Crow, Hidatsa, and Northern Pomo)

Tyler Lau

Tyler Lau Email: tylerlau@berkeley.edu
Office
: 1307 Dwinelle
Research interests:
Historical and comparative linguistics, language variation and change, computational approaches to language change, phonetics, language documentation and revitalization, Ryukyuan languages
Fall 2017 teaching:
Linguistics 130

Emily Remirez

Emily Remirez Email: eremirez@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Sociocultural and interactional linguistics, lab phonetics and phonology (especially speech perception), identity construction

Alice Shen

Alice Shen Email: azshen@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, psycholinguistics, speech perception, bilingualism

Eric Wilbanks

Eric Wilbanks Email: wilbanks_eric@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics and phonology; sociophonetics; language variation and change; laboratory phonology; speech perception and production; Hispanic linguistics