People in Computational and Experimental Methods

Faculty, Staff, and Postdoctoral Scholars

Gašper Beguš

Gašper Beguš Assistant Professor of Linguistics
Email: begus@berkeley.edu
Office: TBA
Research and teaching: Phonology, phonetics, computational linguistics, historical linguistics, Indo-European
Fall 2020: No teaching

Isaac L. Bleaman

Isaac Bleaman Assistant Professor of Linguistics
Email: bleaman@berkeley.edu
Office: 1216 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching:  Sociolinguistics, language variation and change, sociophonetics, sociosyntax, corpus methods, language contact, multilingualism, language planning, language and ethnicity, Yiddish, Jewish language varieties
Fall 2020: Linguistics 150, 250A

Susanne Gahl

Susanne Gahl Associate Professor of Linguistics and Cognitive Science
Email: gahl@berkeley.edu
Office: 1220 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Psycholinguistics; language production and comprehension; aphasia
Fall 2020: On sabbatical leave

Keith Johnson

Keith Johnson Professor of Linguistics; Director, PhonLab; Chair, Department of Linguistics
Email: keithjohnson@berkeley.edu
Office: 1222 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Linguistic phonetics, phonetic neuroscience, psycholinguistics
Fall 2020: Linguistics 110

Susan Lin

Susan Lin Assistant Professor of Linguistics
Email: susanlin@berkeley.edu
Office: 1215 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Articulatory phonetics, speech perception, sound change
Fall 2020: Not teaching

Terry Regier

Terry Regier Professor of Linguistics and Cognitive Science
Email: firstname dot lastname at berkeley dot edu
Office: 1221 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Language and cognition; semantic variation and universals; computational linguistics
Fall 2020: Linguistics 290L

Ronald Sprouse

Ronald Sprouse Information Systems Analyst
Email: ronald@berkeley.edu
Office: 49 Dwinelle Hall
Portfolio: Programming related to speech production and perception research, including digital signal processing. Linux system administration and web application development for digital language archives and language documentation.

Graduate students

Geoff Bacon

Geoff Bacon Email: bacon@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Computational linguistics, learnability, language & cognition

Andrew Cheng

Andrew Cheng Email: andrewcheng@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Experimental phonetics and phonology, sociolinguistics, bilingualism, speech and identity, Korean linguistics

Meg Cychosz

Meg Cychosz Email: mcychosz@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, child phonology, psycholinguistics

Maksymilian Dabkowski

Maksymilian Dąbkowski Email: dabkowski@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonology and its interfaces, semantics, language documentation, language revitalization, logic, psycholinguistics

Karee Garvin

Karee Garvin Email: karee_garvin@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, phonology, phonetics-phonology interface, rhythm, prosody, phonetics-syntax interface, language documentation, African languages, Senufo languages

Dmetri Hayes

Dmetri Hayes Email: dmetri@berkeley.edu
Pronouns: he, him, his
Research interests: Adult second language learning, language revitalization, computational linguistics, psycholinguistics

Noah Hermalin

Noah Hermalin Email: nmhermalin@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language and cognition; writing systems and written language

Edwin Ko

Edwin Ko Email: eddersko@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, morphosyntax, language variation and change, historical and comparative linguistics, language documentation and revitalization, Alaska Native and Native American languages (especially Aleut, Crow, Hidatsa, and Northern Pomo)

Raksit Tyler Lau-Preechathammarach

Tyler Lau Email: raksit@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Sound change, experimental phonetics, tonogenesis, perception-production link, documentation & revitalization, Austroasiatic languages, Ryukyuan languages

Samuel Liff

Samuel Liff Email: liff@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Computational linguistics, experimental methods, syntax, language attitudes, language varieties of the Jewish diaspora (especially Yiddish)

Emily Remirez

Emily Remirez Email: eremirez@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Sociocultural and interactional linguistics, lab phonetics and phonology (especially speech perception), identity construction

Alice Shen

Alice Shen Email: azshen@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, psycholinguistics, speech perception, bilingualism

Eric Wilbanks

Eric Wilbanks Email: wilbanks_eric@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics and phonology; sociophonetics; language variation and change; laboratory phonology; speech perception and production; Hispanic linguistics