People in Language and Cognition

Faculty and Postdoctoral Scholars

Susanne Gahl

Susanne Gahl Associate Professor of Linguistics and Cognitive Science
Email: gahl@berkeley.edu
Office: 1220 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Psycholinguistics; language production and comprehension; aphasia
Fall 2018: On sabbatical leave

Keith Johnson

Keith Johnson Professor of Linguistics; Director, PhonLab; Chair, Department of Linguistics
Email: keithjohnson@berkeley.edu
Office: 1222 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Linguistic phonetics, phonetic neuroscience, psycholinguistics
Fall 2018: Linguistics 110 

George Lakoff

George Lakoff Professor Emeritus of Linguistics
Email: lakoff@berkeley.edu
Research: Cognitive linguistics, especially the neural theory of thought and language; conceptual systems, conceptual metaphor, grammar and meaning; the application of cognitive and neural linguistics to politics, literature, psychology, philosophy and mathematics

Terry Regier

Terry Regier Professor of Linguistics and Cognitive Science
Email: firstname dot lastname at berkeley dot edu
Office: 1221 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Language and thought; semantic variation and universals; computational methods
2018-19: On sabbatical leave

Eve Sweetser

Eve E. Sweetser Professor of Linguistics; Director, Celtic Studies Program
Email: sweetser@berkeley.edu
Office: 1211 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Semantics, syntax, historical linguistics, Celtic languages, speech act theory, metaphor theory, semantic change, grammaticalization, grammatical meaning, gesture
Fall 2018: On sabbatical leave

Elisabeth Wehling

Elisabeth Wehling Postdoctoral scholar, Department of Linguistics
Email: elisabethwehling@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Embodied cognition, political morality and framing, gesture pragmatics

Graduate students

Geoff Bacon

Geoff Bacon Email: bacon@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Computational linguistics, learnability, language & cognition

Meg Cychosz

Meg Cychosz Email: mcychosz@berkeley.edu
Research interests: (Socio)phonetics, psycholinguistics: especially bilingual and L2 phonological acquisition

Karee Garvin

Karee Garvin Email: karee_garvin@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, phonology, phonetics-phonology interface, rhythm, prosody, phonetics-syntax interface, language documentation, African languages, Senufo languages

Dmetri Hayes

Dmetri Hayes Email: dmetri@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Psycholinguistics, employing and improving computational methods in linguistics, language revitalization

Noah Hermalin

Noah Hermalin Email: nmhermalin@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language and cognition; writing systems and written language

Schuyler Laparle

Schuyler Laparle Email: schuyler_laparle@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax and its interfaces, lexical semantics, pragmatics, information structure, metaphor, cognitive linguistics

Emily Remirez

Emily Remirez Email: eremirez@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Sociocultural and interactional linguistics, lab phonetics and phonology (especially speech perception), identity construction

Alice Shen

Alice Shen Email: azshen@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, psycholinguistics, speech perception, bilingualism

Lupita Vasquez

Lupita Vasquez Email: nvasquez@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, phonology, bilingualism, psycholinguistics, speech perception and speech production