People in Language and Social Context

Christine Beier

Chris Beier Assistant Adjunct Professor of Linguistics
Email: beiercm@berkeley.edu
Office: 1224 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Language endangerment, documentation, and revitalization; Amazonian languages
Fall 2018: Linguistics 170

William F. Hanks

William Hanks Berkeley Distinguished Professor in Linguistic Anthropology
Email: wfhanks@berkeley.edu
Office: 315 Kroeber
Research and teaching: 
The organization and dynamics of routine language use, Shamanism, and colonial history of Yucatan; Mayan languages; semantics and pragmatics, especially deictic systems

Leanne Hinton

Leanne Hinton Professor Emerita of Linguistics
Email: lhinton@berkeley.edu
Research: American Indian languages, endangered languages, language revitalization

Keith Johnson

Keith Johnson Professor of Linguistics; Director, PhonLab; Chair, Department of Linguistics
Email: keithjohnson@berkeley.edu
Office: 1222 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Linguistic phonetics, phonetic neuroscience, psycholinguistics
Fall 2018: Linguistics 110 

Lev Michael

Lev Michael Associate Professor of Linguistics; Head Graduate Adviser, Department of Linguistics
Email: levmichael@berkeley.edu
Office: 1212 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Anthropological linguistics, language typology, Amazonian documentary, descriptive, and comparative linguistics, language contact, grammar and interaction, prosodic systems and verbal art, language endangerment and revitalization
Fall 2018: Linguistics 240A, 250B

Graduate students

Kenneth Baclawski Jr.

Kenny Baclawski Email: kbaclawski@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, sociolinguistics, Southeast Asian and Chamic linguistics

Andrew Cheng

Andrew Cheng Email: andrewcheng@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Experimental phonetics and phonology, sociolinguistics, bilingualism, speech and identity, Korean linguistics

Meg Cychosz

Meg Cychosz Email: mcychosz@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, child phonology, psycholinguistics

Erin Donnelly

Erin Donnelly Email: edonnelly@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Sociolinguistics, historical linguistics, phonology, descriptive linguistics, language documentation

Edwin Ko

Edwin Ko Email: eddersko@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Syntax, semantics, morphosyntax, language variation and change, historical and comparative linguistics, language documentation and revitalization, Alaska Native and Native American languages (especially Aleut, Crow, Hidatsa, and Northern Pomo)

Kelsey Neely

Kelsey Neely Email: kelsey.neely@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Language documentation, Amazonian linguistics, morphosyntax, language contact. Yaminawa, Nahua (Yora), Yanomami, Máíhɨ̀kì

Emily Remirez

Emily Remirez Email: eremirez@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Sociocultural and interactional linguistics, lab phonetics and phonology (especially speech perception), identity construction

Amalia Horan Skilton

Amalia Skilton Email: amalia.skilton@berkeley.edu
Pronouns: she/her
Research interests: Northwestern Amazonian languages; pragmatics; semantics; linguistic anthropology; language documentation; phonology; verbal art

Eric Wilbanks

Eric Wilbanks Email: wilbanks_eric@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics and phonology; sociophonetics; language variation and change; laboratory phonology; speech perception and production; Hispanic linguistics