People in Phonetics, Phonology and Morphology

Faculty and staff

Gašper Beguš

Gašper Beguš Assistant Professor of Linguistics
Email: begus@berkeley.edu
Office: TBA
Research and teaching: Phonology, phonetics, computational linguistics, historical linguistics, Indo-European
Fall 2020: No teaching

Isaac L. Bleaman

Isaac Bleaman Assistant Professor of Linguistics
Email: bleaman@berkeley.edu
Office: 1216 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching:  Sociolinguistics, language variation and change, sociophonetics, sociosyntax, corpus methods, language contact, multilingualism, language planning, language and ethnicity, Yiddish, Jewish language varieties
Fall 2020: Linguistics 150, 250A

Susanne Gahl

Susanne Gahl Associate Professor of Linguistics and Cognitive Science
Email: gahl@berkeley.edu
Office: 1220 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Psycholinguistics; language production and comprehension; aphasia
Fall 2020: On sabbatical leave

Larry M. Hyman

Larry M. Hyman Professor of Linguistics; Executive Director, France-Berkeley Fund
Email: hyman@berkeley.edu
Office: 1225 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Phonological theory, language typology, African languages, especially Bantu and other Niger-Congo
Fall 2019: Linguistics 5, 211B

Sharon Inkelas

Sharon Inkelas Professor of Linguistics; Associate Vice Provost for the Faculty and Special Faculty Advisor to the Chancellor on Sexual Violence/Sexual Harassment
Email: inkelas@berkeley.edu
Office: 1219 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Phonology, morphology, and their interface; child phonology
2020-21: Not teaching

Keith Johnson

Keith Johnson Professor of Linguistics; Director, PhonLab; Chair, Department of Linguistics
Email: keithjohnson@berkeley.edu
Office: 1222 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Linguistic phonetics, phonetic neuroscience, psycholinguistics
Fall 2020: Linguistics 110

Darya (Даша) Kavitskaya

Darya Kavitskaya Associate Professor of Slavic Languages and Literatures and of Linguistics
Email: dkavitskaya@berkeley.edu
Office: 6219 Dwinelle
Research and teaching: Slavic, Turkic, Uralic; phonology and phonetics, historical phonology
Fall 2020: Linguistics 111

Susan Lin

Susan Lin Assistant Professor of Linguistics
Email: susanlin@berkeley.edu
Office: 1215 Dwinelle Hall
Research and teaching: Articulatory phonetics, speech perception, sound change
Fall 2020: Not teaching

Ronald Sprouse

Ronald Sprouse Information Systems Analyst
Email: ronald@berkeley.edu
Office: 49 Dwinelle Hall
Portfolio: Programming related to speech production and perception research, including digital signal processing. Linux system administration and web application development for digital language archives and language documentation.

Graduate students

Andrew Cheng

Andrew Cheng Email: andrewcheng@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Experimental phonetics and phonology, sociolinguistics, bilingualism, speech and identity, Korean linguistics

Meg Cychosz

Meg Cychosz Email: mcychosz@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, child phonology, psycholinguistics

Maksymilian Dabkowski

Maksymilian Dąbkowski Email: dabkowski@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonology and its interfaces, semantics, language documentation, language revitalization, logic, psycholinguistics

Karee Garvin

Karee Garvin Email: karee_garvin@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, phonology, phonetics-phonology interface, rhythm, prosody, phonetics-syntax interface, language documentation, African languages, Senufo languages

Emily Grabowski

Emily Grabowski Email: emily_grabowski@berkeley.edu
Research interests: phonetics, phonology, tone, quantitative methods, language documentation

Myriam Lapierre

Myriam Lapierre Email: myriam.lapierre@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, phonology, nasality, language documentation and revitalization, Amazonian languages (especially Jê languages)

Raksit Tyler Lau-Preechathammarach

Tyler Lau Email: raksit@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Sound change, experimental phonetics, tonogenesis, perception-production link, documentation & revitalization, Austroasiatic languages, Ryukyuan languages

Tyler Lemon

Tyler Lemon Email: tylerlemon@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Morphology, syntax, phonology, typology, language variation, fieldwork

Yevgeniy Melguy

Yevgeniy Melguy Email: ymelguy@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics-phonology interface, lab phonology, speech perception/production, bilingualism

Emily Remirez

Emily Remirez Email: eremirez@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Sociocultural and interactional linguistics, lab phonetics and phonology (especially speech perception), identity construction

Katherine Russell

Katherine Russell

Email: katherine.russell@berkeley.edu
Pronouns: she, her, hers
Research interests:
Phonology, fieldwork, typology, tone, West African languages, language documentation

Martha Schwarz

Martha Schwarz Email: martha_schwarz@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonology, phonetics-phonology interface, fieldwork, Nepali

Alice Shen

Alice Shen Email: azshen@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, psycholinguistics, speech perception, bilingualism

Lupita Vasquez

Lupita Vasquez Email: nvasquez@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics, phonology, bilingualism, psycholinguistics, speech perception and speech production

Eric Wilbanks

Eric Wilbanks Email: wilbanks_eric@berkeley.edu
Research interests: Phonetics and phonology; sociophonetics; language variation and change; laboratory phonology; speech perception and production; Hispanic linguistics